a light rail tale

When I first got (back) to Jerusalem I had the bad habit of using the light rail as my private whip. I hopped in and out and never paid for it. I felt bad about it but not as bad as giving up the little money I had. After about a month of doing that the popo almost caught up with me, stepping on the same light rail as me. I got as far away from them as fast as I could, while praying that if I could escape I wouldn’t do this kind of thing again.  It was crowded and I managed to slip away, but it scared me. I think the fine would have been the cost of 30 light rail tickets.
Next time I hopped on the train I was too late to buy a ticket, but instead resolved to give 6 sheks to tzedukkah and the ride went smoothly.
But the time after that (this morning) I bought a ticket for the first time in a long time and this time the popo stepped in right after me. There would have been no escape either. The light rail was sparsely filled and stalled in the station long enough for them to get everyone. Baruch HaShem I wasn’t scared this time, just grateful

Leave a comment